The New York Jets have been on the wrong side of things in the NFL for over a decade.
From poor coaching to even worse quarterback play to squandering perfect opportunities, the Jets haven’t been able to get anything right. 

However, Jets fans have not been this hyped heading into a season in a long time. Though coming off a 7-10 record isn’t great, they knocked it out of the park in the offseason.

The team bolstered its offense by acquiring Aaron Rodgers, Dalvin Cook, and Allen Lazard, while the defense continued to improve. 

While the arrival of Rodgers has taken the main focus of offseason conversation, the emergence of wide receiver Garrett Wilson has Jets fans looking forward to the future.

And with all the hype comes the high expectations.

Much to the delight of New York betting fans, Wilson will live up to those high expectations and go way above and beyond them by winning the Offensive Player of the Year award. 

How Garrett Wilson Will Win OPOTY

Wilson enjoyed a successful rookie year, becoming the only New York Jet to win Offensive Rookie of the Year. And it was even more impressive, considering he had a quarterback carousel in Zach Wilson, Joe Flacco, Mike White, and Chris Streveler.

Photo: New York Jets

On the year, Wilson saw 147 targets and caught 83 passes for 1,103 yards and four touchdowns. He led all rookies in targets, catches, and receiving yards. Along with that, he was 7th in the league in targets. 

Those numbers will only skyrocket now that the Jets have 4-time MVP Aaron Rodgers on the roster. The pair have looked very in sync in training camp and in the final preseason game, in which Rodgers threw a perfectly placed ball to Wilson for the 19-yard touchdown. 

Rodgers was missing that true No. 1 on the Green Bay Packers last season following the departure of Davante Adams, whom Rodgers has compared Wilson to. But now, with Wilson, Rodgers has that sure-fire target back. 

New York’s wide receiver room had more questions than answers last season, with Wilson being the main staple in the offense. New York’s next two leaders in receptions were tight end Tyler Conklin and running back Michael Carter

The other five wide receivers on the team last season (Elijah Moore, Corey Davis, Braxton Berrios, Denzel Mims, and Jeff Smith) combined for 197 targets, 106 catches, 1,447 yards, and three touchdowns. That’s only 50 more targets, 23 more catches, 344 more yards, and one less receiving touchdown. And now, none of them are on the roster this season. 

The Jets wide receiver room looks completely different now, as Wilson will play alongside Lazard, Randall Cobb, and Mecole Hardman. All three are significant upgrades from the crew last season, which will help take all of the attention off of Wilson. 

Right now on FanDuel, Wilson is tied with Patrick Mahomes as the 7th-favored player in NFL Offensive Player of the Year odds at +2500. 

With Ja’Marr Chase, Justin Jefferson, and Tyreek Hill ahead of Wilson in the odds, it’ll be tough to take home the award. But with the entire Jets team revamped and a Hall of Fame quarterback throwing him the ball, Wilson has a strong shot at taking home the award. 

History doesn’t favor Wilson, as only four wide receivers (Jerry Rice, Michael Thomas, Cooper Kupp, and Justin Jefferson) have won the award.
However, a wide receiver has won it three of the last four years, and Wilson is about to make it the 3rd straight season in which a wide receiver wins Offensive Player of the Year

Photo: New York Jets

Comments are closed.

Check Also

RECAP: Weekend of Red Cards & Injuries for Red Bulls

The New York Red Bulls weekend of matches against Chicago Fire FC, in both Major League So…